Will online replace offline?


Good morning, Social Rabbit here with your guide to the world of social media…

Last night was a very social networking night for one lucky bunny!  I went speed networking, so 25 people 3 minutes each and lots of business card swapping.  At the end of the night I had probably 3 definite new social media clients and A LOT of raving fans.  The people I met told me about the people that they had met that night (that I hadn’t) who I should talk to, so I actually will eventually connect with more than the 25 I have cards for.

So bouncing up to my PC this morning I was wondering if I had spent the 3 hours on LinkedIn last night rather than at this event would I have got the same results?  Has anyone done that?  I plan to next week and will compare the results.

I think that for me face to face networking will produce better results, that is to say I will get more instant “yeses” mostly because my enthusiasm just bounces out of me, and it’s kind of hard to convey that on LinkedIn.  So how am I going to convey enthusiasm and stand out on LinkedIn with my new challenge?  This is the plan…

– every question I answer include my tag line
– every email I send include my tagline
– brighten up my profile so it is more memorable
– look through my current connections and see who they know that I could help
– sign off any emails with my business name and tag line (unfortunately you can’t include urls)
Plus I’ll work on more and report back….

Love to know your thoughts…

Enjoyed this blog?  Hop onto Facebook and become a  fan… www.facebook.com/SocialRabbit

1 Comment

Filed under social media

One response to “Will online replace offline?

Leave a Reply

